Film Victoria Screen Awards

In 2019, the Film Victoria Screen Awards saw our former Seen & Screened and Screen Leader awards merge to celebrate the productions, projects and people who contributed to an outstanding year across the Victorian games, film and television industry, and to honour four preeminent Victorian screen leaders for their longstanding contributions to the Victorian industry.

Jan Sardi Award

Recognising an outstanding body of screenwriting over a significant period of time.

Jan Sardi is an eminent screenwriter who is an inspiration to Australian writers at all stages of their careers.


Fred Schepisi Award

Recognising an outstanding body of directing work over a significant period of time.

Fred Schepisi is an iconic director who has been invaluable to the Australian film industry as a director, producer and screenwriter.


Jill Robb Award

Recognising outstanding leadership, achievement and service to the Victorian screen industry. 

Jill Robb was the inaugural CEO of the Victorian Film Corporation (now Film Victoria) and a member of the Film Victoria Board from 1983-1989. As a producer and executive Jill has been a role model for many screen practitioners, particularly women working in the screen sector.


John Howie Award

Recognising outstanding leadership, achievement and service to the Victorian screen industry. 

John Howie was Film Victoria’s President from 2003-2011 and was also Chair of the organisation in its previous incarnation, from 1989-1992, before Cinemedia was established.


The Greg Tepper Award and Tim Richards Award were not awarded in 2019, but are currently being reviewed.

Greg Tepper Award

This award began in 1992 in recognition of the passionate industry advocate who worked at Film Victoria for 13 years and was widely praised for his contribution to Victorian film culture. He sadly passed away in 1991.


  • 2018: Corrie Chen
  • 2017: Kitty Green
  • 2016: Wayne Hope & Robyn Butler 
  • 2015: Anna McLeish & Sarah Shaw 
  • 2014: Joanna Werner
  • 2013: Tony Briggs
  • 2012: Shaun Grant 
  • 2011: Sophie Byrne
  • 2010: Nicole Minchin 
  • 2009: Philippa Campey 
  • 2008: Matthew Saville 

Tim Richards Award

Since 2008 the Tim Richards Award has been presented at Seen & Screened. Tim was an industry leader and an advocate for mobile content and games development, particularly for the Victorian sector, who sadly passed away in 2008.


  • 2018: Lumi Consulting
  • 2017: Lisy Kane
  • 2016: Hipster Whale 
  • 2015: Loveshack Entertainment
  • 2014: Antichamber
  • 2013: Wicked Witch
  • 2012: Matthew Hall
  • 2011: The Voxel Agents
  • 2010: Firelight Technologies (FMOD)
  • 2009: Firemint
  • 2008: Infinite Interactive