2017 ADG Winners Announced

Film Victoria congratulates the winners and nominees in the 2017 Australian Directors Guild (ADG) Awards.

Held in Melbourne on 5 May, the Awards recognise excellence in the craft and art of directing, as well as acknowledging individual contributions by Australian Screen Directors to film, television, documentary, animation and interactive media. 

Victorian directors and Film Victoria supported projects were well represented among the nominees, with the following directors taking home an award:

Best Direction In A Feature Film
Garth Davis, Lion

Best Direction In A Short Film
Luci Schroder, Slapper

Best Direction In A Student Film
Meaghan Palmer, Tasty

Best Direction In A Documentary Feature Film
Dan Jackson, In the Shadow of the Hill

Best Direction In A Documentary Short Subject
Bentley Dean, (with Martin Butler and Liz Jackson), A Sense of Self

Esben Storm Award For Best Direction In A Children’s TV Or SVoD Drama
Robyn Butler, Little Lunch Special: The Nightmare Before Graduation

Best Direction In A TV Or SVoD Drama Series
Emma Freeman, Secret City – The Watchers (Series 1, Episode 2)

Best Direction In A TV Or SVoD Mini Series
Kevin Carlin, Molly

Best Direction In A TV Or SVoD Comedy Program
Matthew Saville, Please Like Me – Burrito Bowl (Series 4, Episode 5)

Daina Reid received the Michael Carson Award for excellence in the craft of television drama direction for her work on acclaimed series such as The Wrong Girl, Offspring, Hunters, Miss Fisher’s Murder Mysteries and The Secret River.

The Innovation Award was presented to Girl Geek Academy, a global movement encouraging women to learn technology, create startups and build more content for the internet. Girl Geek Academy was co-founded by Melbourne-based games producer Lisy Kane.

See the full list of winners.